ICSMPU College pre-loader


NEET - About the exams

NATIONAL ELIGIBILITY CUM ENTRANCE TEST (NEET) will be conducted by National Testing Agency (NTA) for admission to MBBS/BDS Courses and other undergraduate medical courses in approved/recognized Medical/Dental & other Colleges/ Institutes in India. This will also apply to AIIMS and JIPMER.

Eligibility Criteria


  • Indian Nationals
  • Non-Resident Indians (NRIs)
  • Overseas Citizen of India (OCI)
  • Persons with Indian Origin (PIO)
  • Foreign Nationals

Age Limit:

  • The minimum age of a candidate should be 17 years.

Minimum qualification:

  • Candidate must have cleared Class 12 or equivalent from a recognized institute.

Mandatory subjects:

  • Candidate must have cleared Class 12 or equivalent with Physics, Chemistry and Biology.
  • Candidates who have passed Class 12 or equivalent with Biology as an additional subject are also eligible.

Minimum marks required in the qualifying examination:

  • General category: 50%
  • PWD category: 45%
  • SC/ST/OBC: 40%
Exam Pattern
  • Exam mode and duration: The exam is conducted in offline mode for a duration of 3 hours( pen and paper mode entrance exam).
  • Marking Scheme: Every question in the paper carries 4 marks. Candidates will be rewarded 4 marks for every correct response. 1 mark will be deducted from the total score for every incorrect response. There is no negative marking for unattempted questions.
  • Candidates are given a question paper, and they have to mark their responses in the provided OMR sheet.
  • NTA determines the NEET Exam Pattern with the aim of short listing the most deserving candidates for medical courses.